Nanda Layos Lwin, P.Eng., FEC

East Central Region Councillor

Nanda Layos Lwin is a professor in the School of Environmental and Civil Engineering Technology at Seneca Polytechnic in Toronto. In February 2023, he was elected as an East Central Region councillor on PEO Council. Prior to his election to Council, Lwin served 18 years on the executive of PEO’s Willowdale/Thornhill Chapter, four of those years as chair. He also sat on PEO’s East Central 30 by 30 Committee and was a member of the Government Liaison Committee. He is a member of the Ontario Society of Professional Engineers and the Council of Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat. In recognition of his contributions and service to the engineering profession, Lwin was made a fellow of Engineers Canada in 2015 and inducted into PEO’s Order of Honour in 2022. As an educator, Lwin began teaching at Humber College in Toronto in 2003, and then at Seneca the following year. There, he co-founded the student-run Seneca Civil Society and publishes an annual directory of civil engineering firms. In 2021, he established the Nanda Layos Lwin Civil Endowed Award for students in financial need. Lwin holds a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from the University of Toronto and a master's degree in engineering and public policy from McMaster University. He has worked in both structural and transportation engineering. While employed at NCK Engineering in Toronto, he fulfilled a childhood dream by working on the structural rehabilitation program of the CN Tower, then the world’s tallest free-standing structure. Lwin is a journalist and the author and publisher of eight reference books on contemporary music and wrote a popular weekly column on music charts. His articles have appeared in The Globe and Mail,, and The Hamilton Spectator. In his leisure time, he enjoys keeping track of music charts, listening to music, reading, writing and politics, and he can often be found in a bookstore, museum or art gallery. He has also performed stand-up at a Toronto comedy club and is a former president of the Ruskin Literary and Debating Society, one of the oldest debating clubs in Canada.