

Minutes

Consulting Engineer Designation Committee

Meeting: February 14, 2019, Thursday

Present: Doug Barker, P.Eng. – Chair

Christian Bellini, P.Eng. Ishwar Bhatia, P.Eng. Denis Dixon, P.Eng.

Shawn Gibbons, P.Eng. (teleconference)

Eric Nejat, P.Eng.

Rick Patterson, P.Eng. – Vice Chair Chris Redmond, P.Eng. (teleconference)

Steve van der Woerd, P.Eng.

Regrets: Richard Kamo, P.Eng.

Bruce Matthews, P.Eng.

Staff: Johnny Zuccon, P.Eng.

Faris Georgis, P.Eng.

Imelda Suarez

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 10:06 a.m.

1. Minutes of Previous Meeting

Rick Patterson moved to adopt the minutes of the October 25, 2018 meeting. Seconded by Eric Nejat.

2. Regional Sub-Committee Reports – Designation/Redesignation

3.1 Western Region

Rick Patterson moved that applicants 1.1 to 1.2 from the Western Subcommittee report be recommended for **designation**; seconded by Steve van der Woerd.

CARRIED

Rick Patterson moved that applicants 2.1 to 2.4 from the Western Subcommittee report be recommended for **redesignation**; seconded by Eric Nejat.

CARRIED

3.2 <u>Eastern Region</u>

Shawn Gibbons moved that applicant 1.1 from the Eastern Subcommittee report be recommended for **designation**; seconded by Steve van der Woerd.

CARRIED

Shawn Gibbons moved that applicants 2.1 to 2.5 from the Eastern Subcommittee report be recommended for **redesignation**; seconded by Rick Patterson. Note that the subcommittee briefly discussed then recommended applicant 2.4, Wojciech Remisz, for redesignation.

CARRIED

3.3 <u>Toronto</u>

Denis Dixon moved that applicants 1.1 to 1.11 from the Toronto Subcommittee report be recommended for **designation**; seconded by Steve van der Woerd.

CARRIED

Denis Dixon moved that applicants 2.1 to 2.16 from the Toronto Subcommittee report be recommended for **redesignation**; seconded by Rick Patterson.

CARRIED

The designation application of applicant 3.1, Mohammadreza Poorazar, from the Toronto subcommittee report will be deferred pending an interview.

3.4 <u>Southern Region</u>

Steve van der Woerd moved that applicants 1.1 to 1.2 from the Southern Subcommittee report be recommended for **designation**; seconded by Shawn Gibbons.

CARRIED

Steve van der Woerd moved that applicants 2.1 to 2.2 from the Southern Subcommittee report be recommended for **redesignation**; seconded by Eric Nejat.

CARRIED

3.5 <u>Northern Region</u>

There were no applicants for **designation**.

Eric Nejat moved that applicants 2.1 to 2.6 from the Northern Subcommittee report be recommended for **redesignation**; seconded by Steve van der Woerd.

CARRIED

3. Permission to Use the Title "Consulting Engineers"

Rick Patterson moved that applicants 1.1 to 1.10 be **approved** for the Permission to Use the Title "Consulting Engineers"; seconded by Eric Nejat.

CARRIED

4. <u>Activity Reports</u>

- 4.1 Ishwar Bhatia reported on the following:
 - Michael Price and Scott Clark are no longer with PEO. Johnny Zuccon has been confirmed as the permanent Registrar.
 - Joint briefing note from CEO & OSPE.
- 4.2 No report from Consulting Engineers Ontario (CEO).

4.3 Christian Bellini reported on the following:

- The September 2018 Engineers Canada board meeting wherein:
 - a. They passed a national position statement on the confirmation of academic requirements;
 - b. They approved the model guide on mentoring programs;
 - c. The budget was presented for review
- On their December 2018 meeting, Engineers Canada approved the white paper on "qualified persons".

5. <u>New Business</u>

5.1 CEO Letter to the Attorney General

Rick Patterson moved that the CEDC will send a letter to Council expressing the committee's discontent with CEO's approach. Seconded by Eric Nejat.

CARRIED

5.2 External Regulatory Review

The Toronto Subcommittee and representatives of other subcommittees met with Deanna Williams on February 7. An email will be sent to the reviewer reiterating the importance of the designation.

5.3 <u>CEDC Term Limits</u>

Due to the term limits set by Council, today is the last day in the main committee of the CEDC for Doug Barker, Eric Nejat, Denis Dixon and Rick Patterson.

5.4 Election of Chair and Vice-Chair

Faris Georgis is chair for this section of the meeting. Eric Nejat nominated Shawn Gibbons as chair. There were no other nominations. Shawn Gibbons is declared as the new chair of the committee.

CARRIED

Eric Nejat nominated Steve van der Woerd as vice chair. There were no other nominations. Steve van der Woerd is declared as the new voice chair of the committee.

CARRIED

5.5 <u>Awards Presentation</u>

Johnny Zuccon recognized Denis Dixon, Rick Patterson, Eric Nejat and Doug Barker for their years of service to the main committee of the CEDC.

<u>Adjournment</u>

The meeting adjourned at 12:02 p.m.