2020 Ontario Professional Engineers Awards recipients

2020 Ontario Professional Engineers Awards (OPEA) postponed until 2021

Out of an abundance of caution due to the COVID-19 pandemic, it has been decided to postpone the 2020 Ontario Professional Engineers Awards (OPEA) gala until 2021. An in-person gala for 2020 OPEA recipients will be hosted in November 2021.

More information will be provided closer to the gala date.

Professional Engineers Gold Medal

No recipient

Engineering Medal – Engineering Excellence category

Goldie Nejat, PhD., P.Eng.
Professor and Canada Research Chair in Robots for Society, University of Toronto

Charles Michael Southwood, BSc, P.Eng.
Chief Electrical Engineer, Eastern Power Ltd. 

Engineering Medal – Management category

Laura Conquergood, BSc.Eng., P.Eng.
VP Operations, Baylis Medical

Howard Goodfellow, PhD., P.Eng., FCAE, FEC
President and CEO, Goodfellow Business Enterprises

Engineering Medal – Research and Development category

Pascale Champagne, PhD, P.Eng., D.WRE, F.ASCE, F.EWRI, F.CAE
Professor & Canada Research Chair in Bioresources Engineering, Queen’s University 

Jing Jiang, BESc., MESc., Ph.D., P.Eng., F. CAE, F.EIC, F.IET, F.ISA, F.IEEE, F.ANS
Professor and NSERC/UNENE Senior Industry Research Chair, University of Western Ontario

Engineering Medal – Entrepreneurship category

Jeff Westeinde, BESc., P.Eng.
President, Zibi Canada

Engineering Medal – Young Engineer category

Yin Yu Rachel Zhang, P.Eng., CCE
Clinical Engineer, Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario

Citizenship Award

No recipient

Award for Engineering Project or Achievement

National Arts Centre Rejuvenation
Fast + Epp